More Pics, and The Dangerous Ride

One big non-skin related complaint about TSW is the effect on sleeping patterns.  Whether this is from unconsciously itching at night or from something with cortisol levels, it’s pretty certain that your sleep will be disrupted in some way with TSW.  I’ve been no exception to this – during the weekdays while I work can be rough, since it will be near midnight (or later) before I finally doze off, and then I have to wake up around 5 am.  Taking an antihistamine can help knock me out earlier, but then I wake up really groggy.

During one day last week upon my morning commute, my eyes kept closing on the drive in, no matter what I tried to do (singing loudly, pinching myself, chewing gum).  Handling a speeding car at 70+ mph on the expressway while being about to nod off is pretty perilous.  I made it to work just fine, but recognized this is a problem.  Then yesterday, on my afternoon drive home, I didn’t even THINK I was that tired… until my eyes popped open just in time for me to be about to collide with the car in front of me.  (I didn’t even realize my eyes had closed!)  Instinct instantly kicked in and I quickly swerved the wheel to the right lane, narrowly avoiding rear-ending them.  I gave up all caffeine previously, but I simply had to go back to having a little bit of coffee here and there in the past weeks, to function and to keep me from not getting into traffic accidents, or worse yet, physically hurting or killing myself and others!  I didn’t want to do it as the adrenal glands are already stressed in TSW (you can read ALLLLL about different authors’ perspectives about caffeine and adrenal exhaustion and why we shouldn’t be slugging down this stuff all day here).  However, the overwhelming response seems to be that having it here and there is not overwhelmingly terrible, as long as you’re not having the stuff every day or becoming addicted, needing more and more (or sugary treats) to continue having a “high”.

What do you think?  Should caffeine be avoided at all costs with TSW?  Or is it ok to have it sparingly?

Now, here are some pics from yesterday – I am almost at the 2 month mark.  Honestly these pictures make things look better than they are… My skin is redder than the pictures reflect.  And even if it doesn’t LOOK too bad, it sure as heck hurts and burns and itches.  While the worst parts are the areas where I used steroids – (elbow creases, knee creases, back of arms, neck, face, around eyes) – I also have a very itchy lower back, stomach, and groin/upper thigh area.  I never used steroids here or just used them once or twice.   I don’t have TSW symptoms over my entire body (thankfully) but I am wondering if it’s going to spread to a full-body thing or not?  Hopefully not as I wasn’t a very hardcore user.  I like to look down at my good old reliable feet and see an area that’s always been smooth and clear and rash-free.  🙂

Pointing to a clear delineation where my red neck stops and my normal upper back begins.

Pointing to a clear delineation where my red neck stops and my normal upper back begins.  The lines in my neck are also more prominent because the skin is so dry.

Elbow crease.

Elbow crease.

Back of arm.

Back of arm.

 

Closer view of back of arm.

Closer view of back of arm.

 

Very blotchy groin and upper thigh.  The arrows point to a few "normal" colored areas.  This has probably been the consistently worst area in the past few weeks, with alternating between oozing and being dry and itchy but always being super red.  Sometimes I can feel the heat rising off of the skin.  This area is probably also bad because it can get sweaty or rub against clothing.  The lymph nodes in my groin remain swollen and are probably about the size of blueberries or small grapes.

Very blotchy groin and upper thigh. The arrows point to a few “normal” colored areas.  It’s like I’m polka-dotted down there!  This has probably been the consistently worst area in the past few weeks, with alternating between oozing and being dry and itchy but always being super red. Sometimes I can feel the heat rising off of the skin. This area is probably also bad because it can get sweaty or rub against clothing. The lymph nodes in my groin remain swollen and are about the size of blueberries or small grapes.

 

Very dry neck by the end of the day.  It is peeling and flaking and if I pick at the flakes, underneath there is a smooth red layer of baby-soft skin.  Too bad the process constantly repeats itself every day, but one day the baby soft layer of skin will be there to stay with no flakes!!

Very dry neck by the end of the day.  This is with concealer on my face, by the way, so I don’t look as red as I would.   It is peeling and flaking and if I pick at the flakes, underneath there is a smooth red layer of baby-soft skin. Too bad the process constantly repeats itself every day, but one day the baby soft layer of skin will be there to stay with no flakes!!

 

Close up view of dry, flaky neck.

Close up view of dry, flaky neck.  You can see the little tiny cuts in it from being so dry, too.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “More Pics, and The Dangerous Ride

  1. Amanda says:

    That’s scary if you’re falling asleep while driving! I hope it’s okay to have at least some caffeine during TSW, especially if you’re life is at risk from falling asleep in your car.

    And it looks sooo itchy. 😦 I’ve ALWAYS had swollen lymph nodes – there and everywhere! I always assumed it was an allergy/eczema thing. Just out of curiosity, does it cause you to get night sweats?

  2. I don’t get night sweats at all – maybe I will as I progress – I think some TSW’ers get night sweats really bad though. Re: the lymph nodes, have you ever had mono? I never had an issue with lymph nodes being swollen until I had mono in 2010, and then the ones in my neck were permanently swollen, as well as sporadically the groin and armpit ones. But they could just be an allergy or eczema thing too.

  3. joey says:

    phenergan antihistamines are good to take at night, and your not as groggy the next day compared to telfast, zyrtec etc…

    • Hey Joey! Thanks for the tip. I’ve been taking a cheapie store-brand antihistamine so I will look into your suggestion on one that won’t leave me waking up feeling like a zombie!

      • joey says:

        no worries, read up on it 1st, my GP said it lasts for 8hrs which explains why I feel OK the next morning. RE: the coffee, ITSAN website says you may develop allergies to things you normally aren’t. It’s your immune system being hypervidulant. Finally, U may get swollen lymph glands..which ITSAN site mentions, I have them.
        Been doing TSW since Jan ’13.

  4. C saw these pictures and said “oh my gosh- who is posting pictures of you???”

Leave a Reply

