Time to Regroup

Diet1 hard for dogs

It is time to regroup and start fresh.  Thanks to the great comments on the post where I got discouraged on Day 10 of the Elimination Diet, I am armed with new knowledge to heal my skin.  I DID break the diet the other day, but only because I knew that I would be starting over.  I didn’t eat anything real crazy – some corn chips, gluten free toast, and marshmallows.  Even though days before I had been dying for a slice of pizza (and I normally try to stay away from pizza, so I don’t eat it much), I could not bring myself to permit buying a slice or two.  Just knowing how bad it is for me with the triple threat of white carbs, acidic tomatoes, and of course cheese, I could not, with good conscience, put that stuff into my body.  This is a good sign as it means I can resist other ‘bad’ foods!

So I am going to start anew with the Candida diet that Jennifer told me about.  It really makes sense to me that the different life events and happenings in the past few years are what contributed to my eczema getting gradually crazy flared out of nowhere when I never had it real bad before and can’t get it to go away regardless of trying so many things.  I have ordered everything I need, like the probiotics and antifungals, and as soon as they arrive in the mail in a few days, I will begin!

I thought that I would be discouraged that I ‘wasted’ 10 days of strictly prohibiting foods without carrying the diet completely through enough to find out anything, or even knowing for sure if I avoided everything, since the oats I was eating every day may not have been gluten-free.  Instead, I view this time as an excellent “practice” for the Candida diet.  The Candida diet at first is even stricter than eliminating all the foods I had given up.  While 7 days of only vegetables, broth, and detox drinks sounds spartan and intimidating, I know that I can do it because I already got practice in documenting every single thing I eat, adapting to new vegetables/foods/recipes, effectively resisting temptation, and tactfully explaining to people (if needed) that I am on a special diet for health reasons.  I know it is a long road to get the candida out of my system, but I’m actually very excited about it!

 

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Time to Regroup

  1. Jennifer says:

    You CAN do it! Hugs and cheers to you for taking this big step!

  2. […] 4.  NUTS.  After I went off my 10 day trial with the elimination diet, I did not go hog-wild on an eating free-for-all.  I actually didn’t eat nuts for a good […]

Leave a Reply

