Elimination Diet, Day 4: Those Crazy Cravings

So I’ve been keeping a diary not only of my food intake with the Elimination Diet, but what I crave and how I feel.  It’s only Day 4 and the cravings log is starting to get very telling.  I don’t like being told what to do or that I can’t have something, so I’m craving all the very foods I’m not supposed to eat by very nature of that!

Day One: Feeling fit and trim and not itchy.  I totally got this.
Cravings: Marshmallows (my husband had built a fire and was gloriously eating s’mores, offering me gooey marshmallows without realizing they have corn byproducts).  [“Ha!” I scoff to myself.  “A mere craving for just marshmallows?  This diet will be simple.”  YEAH RIGHT.]

Day Two: Feeling crabby and tired.  This *could* be due to the fact that I’ve been working out hard at the gym to distract myself from all the foods I “can’t” eat, or it could be due to the prospect of a New Year’s Eve without any treats or snacks.

Cravings: Potato chips.  Giving up these nightshades better do me some good, because I miss my salty snacks!  Pumpkin seeds are just not the same.

Day Three: Woke up with a slight headache.  Feeling tired; almost hungover actually.  I didn’t drink any alcohol on New Year’s Eve, unless this is just from me staying out later than normal.  I hope this is a side effect of my body ‘detoxifying’.

Cravings: Caffeine!  Subway veggie foot long sandwich!  Pizza!  Buffalo Wild Wings!  All you can eat buffets!!  AYCE buffetThe general prospect of gorging myself on junk food!

Day Four: Feeling as good as I can feel with having to go back to work after the long holiday break.

Cravings: Diet Mt. Dew.  Coffee.  Candy.  (I’ve already successfully resisted the temptations of some well-meaning person placing candy and chocolate on my desk, offers of four kinds of cookies, and an offer of beef jerky.)

I emailed my husband whining that there were temptations everywhere.  His reply – “You are doing really good and your skin looks great right now.  Keep those temptations out of sight!”  And so I persevere.  🙂

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Elimination Diet, Day 4: Those Crazy Cravings

  1. Courtney says:

    Aww I love your super supportive husband. Sometimes our guys don’t realize how much their encouragement means to us when dealing with diet changes/skin issues! MmMmMmm Subway veggie foot long sub- droooooooooool.

    Keep at it!!!! How long do you do the elimination diet before you start gradually adding things back in?

  2. Aw, yeah, makes it so much better to go through all these tribulations with someone to offer understanding and support! You clearly found a great one in your fiance’ as well! We are lucky ladies 😀

    From the various articles and other people’s experiences that I’ve read online, I am going to do the diet for at least 1 week. Some sites say that it should be done for up to 3 weeks, or whenever you see improvement. I HAVE felt less itchy overall so far, but I might go around 1.5 or 2 weeks. Longest weeks ever, LOL – I can’t wait to head to the nearest Subway, right now I feel like I could suck down TWO veggie footlongs! Thanks for your encouragement, it means a lot to know I have ‘blog friends’ rooting for me! 🙂

    • Courtney says:

      Absolutely! So are you supposed to add trigger foods in one at a time? Like tomatoes one day, then corn another day? Last time I did an elim. diet I was a kid so I don’t remember exactly how it works. Since I’m pretty much on one now (unintentionally, but just trying to get my dang skin better) I’m curious as to how you’re going to add them back in! Are you doing the elimination diet to just get your skin better, or to see what your triggers are? Sorry for the 20 questions haha.

  3. I love questions, no worries! Yes, you add the trigger foods in one at a time, spacing them out (some sites said every 5 days, some said like every 2-3 days). You eat the given food 1 to 3 times in a single day and then use the following days to monitor for any delayed reaction. I’m probably going to go with 3 days between foods. If I get any “positive” foods that DO correlate with itching, I intend to test them again when the elimination diet is all done – seeing if perhaps I can tolerate them in smaller amounts.

    Yeah, I am doing it to get my skin better or even see if there ARE any dietary triggers that give me eczema, since I don’t have any known food allergies and don’t really get any other symptoms associated with foods (like some people get bloating, headaches, etc with ‘bad’ foods for them). Plus there were years and years where I could eat really anything I wanted and I barely had any eczema, so maybe I developed some intolerances as I grew older. Trying to eliminate dairy really helped my nasal allergies and *seemed* to help my eczema, but did not completely clear it up, and having tried to control everything in my environment and what I put on my body, I figured trying to further refine my diet would maybe find more triggers.

    So I know you’re on a pretty restrictive diet yourself from reading your blog – I know you can’t eat nuts, eggs, or seafood, and I assume you’re still going strong on the vegan and gluten-free? Or did you go back to some gluten since you noted giving it up didn’t seem to help your eczema? Gosh, and then I suggested you give up nightshades… I’m like the Elimination Diet Enabler, LOL and now I am the one asking 20 questions! Has the vegan diet seemed to be helping your skin?

  4. Jennifer says:

    Having a potato chip craving? Try kale chips – they are salty and so freaking yummy. I know, sounds impossible – kale being to-die-for good, but they are! I have a recipe here – http://itchylittleworld.com/2011/11/03/kale-chips-warning-highly-addictive/

  5. Mm, thanks for the recipe Jennifer! I actually bought 3 huge bunches of kale this weekend in hopes of making kale chips, but just did not get around to it yet! Such a good alternative to potato chips and corn chips!

Leave a Reply

