Makeup Review: Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat

Having an allergy/sensitivity to both Beeswax and Aloe Vera makes it VERY challenging to find mascara, as I’ve recently found.  Almost every single mascara has at least one of these ingredients, if not both.  Having found a great (non waterproof) one from Tarte, I then set out on the virtual world of the internet for my next challenge – finding a mascara that not only had no beeswax or aloe, but was also waterproof.  The Tarte one is pretty water-resistant and has held up perfectly through vigorous exercise where I was only sweating lightly, but for really sweat-crazy activities, I didn’t want to chance it.

This took me literally days of research (not all at one time though).  There are a lot of mascaras without beeswax that I found, often classified under “vegan mascaras” for those that don’t want to use animal products in their makeup.  But they all had aloe.

Googling “mascara without beeswax or aloe” did not help either.  Apparently it must not be too common to be super sensitive to both of these, because this Google search completely ignored the word “WITHOUT” in my search, and brought up many lovely mascaras WITH aloe.

So I had to do this the difficult way.  Pore through many mascaras and read the ingredients.  When I set out to buy a new beauty product, I almost always try the website Beautypedia.com.  This site has reviews of many, many makeup (and skincare) brands and will give thorough product ratings.  I take these ratings with a grain of salt, as something may be rated highly but have ingredients I don’t want (i.e., parabens or fragrance).  However, the Tarte Concealer and Mascara that I currently use were both rated highly and did not disappoint.

I started by filtering through the reviews on Beautypedia and looking at only the waterproof mascaras that were rated highly, and then cross-referencing other sites like Beauty.com to find out all the ingredients.  The whole while, I’m writing down notes for mascaras that look promising, crossing them out as I go when I find they have aloe.  Having no luck there, I decided to then just look at every waterproof mascara on Beauty.com.  I don’t list this laborious process to bore my blog readers, but rather to emphasize that when you have sensitive skin/eczema, you cannot just purchase the latest new makeup item, it all requires careful research, and maybe my research will benefit someone else out there that’s looking for the same thing.

Finally…. I found it!   Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat is a clear formula that “instantly waterproofs any mascara”.  No aloe, no beeswax, no parabens, no fragrance, and no need to have separate mascaras on hand – you can use your favorite mascara and just waterproof it on days or occasions when you need to.  I bought mine from Beauty.com using the link above.lash genius waterproof top coat

I tried it two days in a row, and although I didn’t put it through a HUGE sweat-fest, just incline walking, cardio machines, and strength training, I was very pleased.  No flaking or raccoon eye, no “crunchy” feel on my eyelashes and it didn’t really affect the look of my existing mascara either.  My only critique is it sticks the lashes together a little bit so they’re a bit less lush and full.

Current rating: 4 out of 5.  If it stays completely waterproof through an hour of kickboxing (where I emerge completely soaked in sweat), I will up that to 4.5 out of 5!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

