And Lead Me Not Into Temptation

Today felt like a good day for me to practice self-control and adherence to restricting some foods, in light of my anticipated trial of the Elimination Diet for my eczema.

My very favorite cafeteria meal was being served at work – FISH AND CHIPS – but since this contains gluten, I decided to resist and try eating entirely gluten-free all day today.

Breakfast: Oatmeal with ground flax and a little bit of maple syrup.  Water.

Snack: Almonds.  Two slices Rudi’s Gluten Free Bread.  (I’ve never had cause to eat gluten free bread before, but this was very good.  It made great toast when I tried it the night before.  I kind of actually prefer it to regular toast!).  Stash Pomegranate Green Tea.  Water.

Glutenfree bread

Lunch (I haven’t eaten lunch yet at this point of the day but this is what I have packed at work): Brown rice and kidney beans.  Rice cakes and salt & vinegar potato chips.  Fresh vegetables (kale, radicchio, cucumber, and carrot).  One can Zevia Grape Soda (wonderful stuff – no calories and sweetened with stevia).Zevia  Water.

Snacks (to be eaten in afternoon): GoFree Gluten Free Trail Mix Bar.  Dried apricots.

Dinner: To be determined.  I have some Quorn Nuggets at home, but that I cannot use because their coating has gluten.  (Have you ever tried Quorn?  It is delicious!)

I love Quorn!

I love Quorn!

Quorn is a vegetarian chicken substitute that’s made with mycoproteins (a fungus, but don’t be grossed out by that) and some other stuff like egg whites and flour.  I don’t do tofu or any soy-heavy meat substitutes, and a lot of the other veggie burgers are heavily spiced and/or have garlic or onions.  This eliminates most ‘fake meats’.   So Quorn is an option I eat frequently as a ‘mostly vegetarian’ eater.

I have some eggs to use up before undertaking the elimination diet, so I think I will have scrambled eggs, steamed broccoli, and then either more gluten free toast or some hash browns.  I also have some Hemp Treats at home if I want something sweet later.Hemp Treats  Hemp Treats are ice cream bars made without any dairy/gluten/soy/nuts, but with hemp milk!  Tasty 🙂

Any other suggestions on gluten-free foods?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “And Lead Me Not Into Temptation

  1. Amanda says:

    Can you have corn starch when you eliminate corn? I don’t know how that works. If you can, Applegate Gluten-Free chicken nuggets are really good. Roasted potatoes, sweet potatoes, I have a recipe on my blog for chili free of the top 8 allergens and gluten (and corn, actually) — not sure if it other foods you’re avoiding though — it does have garlic which you can leave out. I’ll try to think of more things that are gluten-free and also free of the other things you’re trying to avoid! Oh, I do taco lettuce wrap things a lot – those are good too.

  2. Ooh, good point about the corn starch. That makes me wonder about corn syrup too, since that’s in so many things. I would think no, I couldn’t have them with giving up corn, but I will have to check into that. I appreciate the gluten free chicken nugget suggestion since those sound much more appealing than cooking a slimy raw chicken breast, LOL. Yeah, I’m definitely going to be going through your blog again and checking out the recipes. Taco lettuce wraps sound GREAT! Thanks for all those suggestions…. I knew you would be a wealth of help with this specific post 🙂

    • Amanda says:

      I DO remember that when I was a kid and went on an elimination diet, my parents had me avoid corn syrup. I really don’t remember more details beyond that though. But, I just made roasted potatoes and those chicken nuggets, put them on a skewer and served them at a Christmas party, and they were one of the quickest things to go — regular, gluten-consuming people loved it.

  3. Trish says:

    Hi there,

    I just discovered your page and it has been a delight to read so far. I think I actually shouted at the screen when I read the bit about your blistex lip balm, as I think I have the exact same sensitivities to both beeswax AND shea butter.

    Anyway, the reason I found you is that I have had a horrible year of eczema, more recently on my face, which never, ever used to be a problem, but began reddening about 6 months ago. One patch on my cheek, then both cheeks, then chin and in my hair line. I look sunburnt and it is winter…

    I am also female, 33, like to exercise but the sweat makes me so itchy that I have really cut back the past year. So, needless to say I am searching for answers myself and I have found your blog to be very informative and easy to read. I was excited to find someone else with such similar symptoms, though I wouldn’t wish them on anyone.

    Just today I had decided I was going to go on a ‘few foods diet’, which is similar to an elimination diet, but it’s a bit more restrictive in that you really control the process by starting with roughly 8 foods that you can eat. And that is all you eat. I have done it in the past and within a week I recall improvements, but by 3 weeks it was amazing. From there you reintroduce one at a time and track. Naturally it takes incredible will power, and once symptoms improve it’s easy to kind of move on, but I really want to take it on this time. I think my foods were chicken, rice, olive oil, zucchini and pear and some others I can’t recall. Something like that. You can use sweeteners, and there are options depending on other items you know you are sensitive to, but it’s worth a shot if you think you may have several sensitivities.

    Anyway, best of luck, and thank you again for the informative blog. I look forward to hearing about what works for you.

  4. Hi Trish! I appreciate you stopping by my blog and I’m grateful for your kind words! Yes, our facial eczema flares sound very, very similar as far as starting with a small patch and then progressing to a lot more areas. I looked “sunburnt” as well at my worst – the patches weren’t really itchy though, even though they were dry and irritated. Are the patches on your face itchy at all without sweating?? It is totally maddening, but you are not alone in trying to find answers amid the frustration!

    The ‘few foods’ diet you bring up interests me. When I was researching the elimination diet, I found a chart that broke down all food groups by least to most allergenic foods – and things like rice, chicken, and pear were all down near the least allergic side, so I stocked up on those in preparation! Having only 8 foods to eat seems pretty crazy, but I have no doubt it can work excellently. I’d love to hear more about your experience if you do it!

  5. Trish says:

    Hello!

    Thanks for your reply. As for the rash, it’s not really itchy, but the skin surface–particularly on my cheeks–is really unusual. Dry and flaky, and bright red! I honestly look like I have racoon eyes. I did a cold compress this morning and put on make up. I use that dry powder mineral stuff which never irritates. Ironically I only use it when I have eczema, otherwise I am not a make up wearer most days. That said, my face will itch if I go for a work out, usually after my cardio when I am cooling down and stretching. That is when I MUST fight the urge to scratch or else it is just worse the next day.

    As for the few foods diet, I think I found it in a book from the library years ago. I figure the net has more info now, so if I find a good site I will let you know!

    Thanks again for feed back. Wishing you the best of luck. I just culled all face creams (and all other creams) with Shea Butter. Turns out it is sometimes listed as “Butyrospermum Park II” as I learned it was a sneaky ingredient in my usual face cream.

    Anyway, happy holidays, I will keep you posted 🙂

    Trish

  6. Happy Holidays to you too Trish! I completely know what you mean – I had ‘raccoon eyes’ too with the redness all around them. With the face rash I had, honestly one of the best remedies that helped was washing my face with very finely ground oatmeal – putting it in a cup first with warm water and letting it set for a bit for the oatmeal to soften, then gently rubbing it onto my face and rinsing – helped soothe the redness and irritation. (You’ve probably seen my post on that if you’ve looked around my blog a bit). Although my face is pretty clear now, I still do this oatmeal ritual every day to stave off irritation and keep my skin soft.

    Ah, the sneaky “butyrospermium parkii”…it’s aggravating when ingredients have different names. Beeswax is listed as the alternate name “cera alba” as well,so that’s another one to avoid!

  7. […] a gluten-free trial for a few days helped me become cognizant of how ingredients sneak into things.  I ate gluten […]

  8. Jennifer says:

    I saw your mention of bread – for some yeast is a big trigger. It really bothers me, as does vinegar and any other fermented type product like soy, etc. If you’re doing gluten free bread, it still contains yeast. Just something to consider.

  9. It’s interesting you say that, as I was just reading about that the other day and how foods containing mold and yeasts can be triggers. I HAVE eaten foods with mold/yeasts like mushrooms and olives while on this diet, but of course no bread or cheese, etc. These incidentally are also my most frequently craved foods (bread, cheese, pickles, etc.) I’m going to stop eating ANY of these types of foods and see if that makes a difference!

Leave a Reply

