Booting The Fruit in the Yellow Suit

Witty title if I do say so myself 🙂

bananaOne of my upcoming posts, once I sort out all my thoughts for it, is going to be how I will be changing my diet in the coming weeks to try and pinpoint any food intolerances that I have.

There are three reasons that I want to change my diet and am willing to radically do so, even though I eat pretty well now (mainly vegetarian/vegan, lots of fresh vegetables every day, and try to eat minimally processed food – although I am still human and subject to succumbing to tasty restaurant food, salty snacks, and candy).

REASON ONE: My eczema and rashes are still not great.  I don’t like living day to day feeling uncomfortably, dry, and itchy, trying to avoid people because I’m self conscious, or worrying what I’ll see in the mirror.  And I don’t like choosing my outfits based on what rashes I am trying to hide.  Especially when I didn’t have bad skin a few years ago and remember the “time before eczema”.  Changing my diet will be extremely hard, but I’m committed to doing it, as it’s something I can try myself and doesn’t involve going to any doctors or health practitioners, and doesn’t involve steroids or other drugs.

REASON TWO: I don’t hold out a lot of hope anymore for remedies that are ingested.  I’ve tried many things – evening primrose oil, fish oil, black currant oil, and of course my Standard Process supplements including my thyroid supplement.  The next thing the holistic doctor is thinking is to use Milk Thistle, but I am kind of dubious since none of these supplements made any noticeable difference (and the Evening Primrose made me feel bloated).

REASON THREE: I recently saw my nurse practitioner and explained my symptoms and quest, requesting testing for hormones and thyroid just to confirm and/or rule out anything of that nature playing havoc with my skin.  I had wanted to find out about thyroid for a while, but an addition impetus for testing came about when I was researching about testosterone in the body and how low levels in women can provoke symptoms, among others, like dry, itchy skin.  And that birth control, which I was taking for a few years, can lower these hormone levels.  One of the other big symptoms of low testosterone is low sex drive.  I’m not into airing my private life on my blog, but let’s just say that if libido had a switch, mine is permanently set to OFF!  I got the results the other day, and everything was completely within normal ranges.  Now that I know it isn’t anything with my thyroid or hormones, I can focus on using DIET as a means to try and heal myself.

But I’m getting a little ahead of myself, as I’m going to discuss my planned dietary changes in a future post soon.  Back to the title of THIS post.  I was just thinking the other day, “Geez, it’s going to be really hard to target what foods I might not tolerate well, since reactions are generally limited to my skin flaring up and don’t appear immediately – making it hard to tell what might be the culprit”.

Then I ate a banana (with nothing else) for a snack in the afternoon, and about 20 minutes later, my stomach felt uncomfortable and bloated.

I tested this again the following day by eating a single banana in the afternoon with nothing else, and same thing about 20 minutes later.  In addition, my skin started to get itchy a few hours later and I woke up both mornings with my face rather red and dry in patches.  “Trouble” sites that had been clear, now flared up, such as the back of my neck and under my eyebrows.  A definite flare, confirmed by the fact that one of my friends greeted me in the morning at work with a concerned look and asking if I was okay.  (I’ve gotten so used to the look of my own face with unhealthy looking skin that using other people’s reaction as a barometer is often useful).

Bananas and I have a little history – I tried to eliminate them in the past because I have a moderate latex allergy (it makes me itch terribly if I touch it, but I don’t have any sort of anaphylaxis or wheezing, etc.) and bananas are one of the foods related to such things, along with avocado, chestnut, and kiwi.  I hadn’t noticed any vast improvement when I had stopped eating bananas in the past, and I don’t eat bananas TOO much anyway, but I guess I forgot about this association since I bought a bunch at the store this weekend.

So, among other dietary changes to be noted in the future, I now have another thing on my list to avoid.  Slowly but surely, I’m ruling out things that affect me and my skin.  That’s just as well, I was pretty ambivalent about bananas anyway.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Booting The Fruit in the Yellow Suit

  1. Amanda says:

    That’s good that you made the connection! Hopefully you don’t have to give up avocados … that would devastate me. Are you considering trying to eliminate gluten again, for a longer period of time?

    • I know you love your avocados! I don’t like them unless they are in guacamole, which I don’t eat too often. Yes! I am going to try eliminating gluten for longer. Basically I plan on doing an elimination diet.

      • Amanda says:

        Those are tough! But I hope it helps shed light on what foods may be triggering your eczema. Good luck 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    Have you considered taking probiotics. I know you’ve tried a lot of ingested things, but many people find it really helpful. It’s just important you find a version that is free of dairy, gluten, and soy, which can be difficult. There have been studies proving it helps many children with eczema. Also, homeopathy has really helped our son. The elimination diet helped us remove the triggers and really made a big improvement in his skin, but the homeopathy was the icing on the cake. We use Homeodel 43 and Dr. Reckweb 23, both tinctures made specifically for eczema. Also, we’re loving the Calendulis Cream for when he does start to flare up for some unknown reason, which still occurs sometimes. http://www.eczemacompany.com/calendulis-cream/

    • Thanks for weighing in with your tips, Jennifer! I have considered probiotics, but at the time I considered it a few months ago, I had already tried many ingested things (as you noted) that didn’t really work, and I kind of wanted to back off and not keep throwing money at my eczema. I should consider it again though and try taking one. Are there any specific brands or kinds of probiotics that you recommend or have used with success on your son?

      I HAVE been to a homeopathic doctor, but her remedy was not of help to me. However, it was not either of those tinctures, it was more of a general remedy that she wanted to try first, so I will check out those two that you suggested. The calendulis cream looks wonderful – I can’t use things with bee propolis so it wouldn’t be for me, but it’s great that you’ve found a natural cream to heal your son’s flares!

Leave a Reply

