“Beautiful Blogger” Award! (Or, Get to know Me…not my eczema!)

bbaward

Recently, Amanda over at Celiac and Allergy Adventures nominated me as one of seven blogs for a Beautiful Blogger award!  😀

The award comes with the following rules:

Link back to the person who nominated you.  Done, see above!

Post the award to your page.   Check!!

Tell 7 facts about yourself.

Nominate 7 bloggers and tell them about it.

Let me nominate my seven bloggers first.  This was hard, because Celiac and Allergy Adventures nominated some of the same blogs that I like to follow.  I also follow some blogs with male authors, and I don’t know if they would want to be called a Beautiful Blogger, LOL, so I felt I should choose only female bloggers.  At any rate, I have seven different ones that are all worthy of a look.

In no particular order:

1. ZiZai Dermatology.  This blog, written by a dermatologist, is very educational, well-laid-out, and informative.  It actually helped me confirm that I seem to be allergic to beeswax (bee propolis) from the author’s own post about her experiences.  I had on and off issues with perioral dermatitis above and under my lips, but I haven’t really had any concerns with those areas since I stopped using any chapsticks with beeswax!  And I may never have figured that out if not for that blog post.

2. My Eczema Tales.  Here is another female posting about her trials and tribulations with eczema and detailing things that work for her.

3. It’s an Itchy Little World.  This is a mom detailing her young son’s struggle with eczema.  There are a bunch of other allergy/eczema related blogs on her Blogroll that I will be checking out!

4. Fancieland.  I discovered Fancie when she liked a makeup-related post on my blog.  Although I am really cautious with wearing a lot of makeup since I don’t want to irritate my skin, I love seeing the looks that other people, like Fancie, create.

5. Eyemasq.  Talk about beautiful looks!  The makeup looks she creates are absolutely stunning and the instructions on recreating them are awesome.  I’m looking forward to creating some of these looks someday when I find out for sure what ingredients I am not sensitive to and can maybe buy a whole bunch of safe colorful makeup.

6. Le Zoe Musings.  Very fun, huge blog about all kinds of attractive things!  I have barely scratched the surface of looking at this blog but I’m excited to peruse it more.

7. Atopic Girl’s Guide to Living.  Another blog from a female eczema suffer talking about her trials with eczema, food allergies, asthma, and other things!

And now, the seven things about me, Ms. EczemaExcellence:

1. I kind of live in a cave, technology-wise.  I don’t have a smart phone, a tablet, an iPod, or cable TV.

2. I was obsessed with mummies when I was younger.  I was convinced I wanted to grow up to be an Egyptologist and work among the pyramids.

3. I could read at the age of 2.

4. One of my proudest physical accomplishments is running my first marathon this past year.  I am hooked, and although running is hard, I would love to shoot for an ultra-marathon or even Ironman triathlon someday.

5. I HATE the sound that high heels make on hard surfaces.  I like the IDEA of wearing them, as I’m 5’9″ and get a kick out of being REALLY tall, but that damn “clip-clop, clip-clop” sound annoys me every time, and therefore I rarely ever wear them.

6.  I was a vegetarian for about a year.  Then I began to have wild cravings for chicken (I don’t even LIKE chicken) to the point where I trekked through a snowstorm to buy fast-food chicken fingers.  Ugh.

7.  I’ve never gone tanning, had a massage, or had a pedicure.  And yes, I am a 26 year old female.  Am I missing out?

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on ““Beautiful Blogger” Award! (Or, Get to know Me…not my eczema!)

  1. Amanda says:

    Oh, new blogs to check out. Yay!

    Yes, you are missing out on the massage especially. Pedicures are nice too, but I just do it myself now! That’s awesome that you ran a marathon. Congrats!

    • Thank you re: the marathon! I could barely run for 5 minutes when I first started training, so I believe that if I can do it, anyone can!

      Yeah, I can’t see paying for a pedicure when painting my toenails myself is free! Maybe some day I will try a massage. I don’t like the idea of a stranger touching me (maybe I’m just self-conscious about having eczema) but I’m sure I would feel soooo relaxed 🙂

      • Amanda says:

        I was planning to write a blog post about eczema and touching! It’s funny because I’m generally the same way — but I LOVE massages!

        And I, like you, could not run at ALL. I’ve managed to get up to a 10K, but not without injuring myself. I wanted to train for a 1/2 marathon but ended up injured for too long and haven’t started running again. Maybe someday! You’re an inspiration 🙂

  2. I’ll be very interested to see that post; that’s a good subject! Even without eczema, I get wary about people touching me or invading my personal space. I can be a warm and affectionate person who likes to hug people that I KNOW, but I like to do it on my terms… nothing more awkward than being hugged by someone you don’t want to hug!

    A 10k is a great accomplishment! I had to run a lot of 5ks and 10ks to get to the point where I could run for a longer time. Like you, I had tried training for longer distances but always got injured or sick. Following a training plan and building up mileage very gradually was what finally helped me. You should totally do a half someday if you want – it is very empowering to be able to accomplish that! I think we are even more accomplished for running since we have asthma to overcome! 😀

  3. […] “get up and go” and not be as restless and distracted.  I trained for and completed a marathon last year, but I couldn’t imagine doing that now.  My joke is that my “get up and […]

  4. […] Also be aware that having asthma can make you tired during exercise.  Even if you are not actively wheezing or feel short of breath, your airways might still feel compromised and the respiratory muscles of a person with asthma have to work harder to get that air in.   Sure, I have had days where I had to cut my exercise short because of this, and felt very disappointed.  However, I have kept at it and been able to build up my cardiovascular fitness and do lots of fun exercise-y things, like a 2 hour kickboxing jam, a 60 mile bike ride, and a full marathon. […]

  5. fancieland says:

    I can’t believe I’m just now seeing this! Lol thank goodness I decided to aimlessly go through my stats last night lol. I’m so late but I still wanted to say thank you! I so appreciate your kind words and really enjoyed this post. I hope you’re still blogging because I’d love to read more posts from you!

Leave a Reply

