Mascara Review – gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara by Tarte

‘Tis time for another mascara review!  After my most recent mascara purchase left me underwhelmed, I decided to try another one from the Tarte line.  Also, in light of my recent findings that I appear to get dermatitis from both aloe and beeswax, it was super good news that this next mascara has neither.  Seriously, it is next to impossible to find a mascara that doesn’t have either of these.

My Review on gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara by Tarte:

(Let me also add the disclaimer here that I am in no way paid by any companies to review products.  I buy this stuff out of my own pocket as it’s pure trial and error for me with finding high quality products.  These are solely my opinions and I post them in the hopes that they will help other people with sensitive skin that want to make good choices for their makeup.)

Cost: I got this at my local ULTA store for $19.  Yeah, it’s more than twice the price of a drugstore mascara, but I have no issue with paying more for a product if it performs well AND won’t irritate my skin.

So first off the packaging again is very cute… It’s like a wood-grain tube (it’s probably made of plastic since it’s so smooth, but it certainly LOOKS like wood) with quite a skinny brush.

When I first saw the skinny brush, I was a little concerned that this would not fare well, since the brush is about the same thickness as the one in Lights, Camera, Splashes.

 

However, I read DOZENS of reviews before buying this, and this appears to be the highest-reviewed mascara that Tarte makes.  People were giving it 5 stars and pleading with Tarte to never stop making it.

After applying it – I understood the hype!

One coat (after eyelash curler) will give you beautifully long and separated lashes.  If I was going to be SUPER critical, I would say maybe it could hold a curl a little better, but maybe that’s just my eyelashes’ problem for being stick straight.

TWO coats, after eyelash curler initially and after the first coat (which is what I prefer), will give you even more beautiful lashes as the second coat ‘bulks’ them up a little more and helps to hold in that curl.

It does not clump in the least and it gives a gorgeous look as the brush grabs and coats every lash.  I also didn’t have the problem of getting mascara smear on my eyelid while applying it.

I wore it all day and it never flaked or smudged.  Then I put it through more of a test the following day – I went for a 90 minute bike ride with my husband.  Given, I didn’t actually sweat, since it was cold out, but there was plenty of wind and sometimes my eyes watering a little if I was biking really fast.  Still perfection when I came home.

I also tried touching my eyelashes and pulling at them a little to see if the mascara would come off… barely any flaking!  It stays on so well!

This stuff is not waterproof, so I want to see how it performs on, say, a really sweaty run or bout of kickboxing, but I still love this and I’m so glad I found it!

AND, it removes very easily (I use an oil to remove makeup, i.e., olive oil or grapeseed oil) and had no problem getting it off.  My lashes actually felt healthier afterward too.

My verdict – 5 stars!  GO OUT AND BUY!  🙂

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Mascara Review – gifted Amazonian Clay Smart Mascara by Tarte

  1. I really love this mascara too. I got it in a sampler from Sephora last year and it was one of the few ones that I used up completely. I 100% agree with your assessment of this one being awesome!! Tarte Rocks!

  2. fancieland says:

    I totally want to try this! I was going to skip on this deal at Sephora but for $10 I think I’m going to go ahead and pick it up! Thanks for the review (:

  3. […] at least one of these ingredients, if not both.  Having found a great (non waterproof) one from Tarte, I then set out on the virtual world of the internet for my next challenge – finding a […]

Leave a Reply

