Mascara Review – Lights, Camera, Splashes by Tarte

I was almost out of my Almay Get Up and Grow waterproof mascara, and wanted to try a new mascara, one without parabens (the Almay one does have parabens).  Although I’ve had wicked flares come and go around my eyes lately, they are also on other portions of my face and neck, so I didn’t think that my mascara could be causing them (I could be wrong, though).

Having had such good success with Tarte Maracuja Concealer, I purchased what seemed like the most apt choice of mascara for me from the Tarte line – Lights, Camera, Splashes waterproof mascara, since I wanted something waterproof so I don’t get raccoon eye when exercising.  I am HUGE on reading online reviews, and things looked pretty favorable for this.  I have brown hair, but not super dark eyelashes, and they’re quite long, but they’re also very faint and fine, so I really feel I NEED mascara to look reasonably awake and it would be weird for me to leave the house without it on.

Here is a picture of it:  (very cute tube packaging!) and the ingredient list.  Tarte touts this mascara as being free of parabens, phthalates, synthetic fragrance, mineral oil, sodium lauryl sulfate.

Water/aqua/eau, oryza sativa (rice) bran wax, cyclopentasiloxane, hydrogenated stearyl olive esters, stearic acid, cera carnauba/copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax/cire de carnauba, alcohol, triethanolamine, candelilla cera/euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax/cire de candelilla, acacia senegal gum, panthenol, VP/VA copolymer, phenoxyethanol, polyvinyl alcohol, aminomethyl, propanediol, chlorphenesin, ascorbyl palmitate, iron oxides (CI 77499)

My unbiased unfettered opinion is this:  I am going to need to return this stuff.  😦

I expect a GOOD mascara to thicken, lengthen, and hold a curl (after using the eyelash curler).  This Tarte mascara lengthens, but doesn’t thicken and didn’t seem to hold a curl.  So (after 2 coats), I ended up with long, yet very thin and straight lashes.  I didn’t care for the look as it was too subtle.

Then, yeah, it’s waterproof, so I didn’t expect it to magically slide right off, but it was TOUGH to remove!  With my Almay stuff, I can use olive oil and it comes off neatly.  The stuff barely budged with olive oil.  I had to pull out some Almay makeup remover pads (that I had stopped using, as I thought they were contributing to the irritation on my face) just to get it all off.  When all was said and done, I’m pretty sure that I’m missing a couple eyelashes more than normal.

I guess if you already have pretty thick and buxom eyelashes, this would be good, but it just did not work for me.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Mascara Review – Lights, Camera, Splashes by Tarte

  1. […] time for another mascara review!  After my most recent mascara purchase left me underwhelmed, I decided to try another one from the Tarte line.  Also, in […]

Leave a Reply

