Coffee Revelation

Steamy cup of brew…very tasty.

Steamy cup of brew…. bad for me and you?

Image

Maybe so if you have eczema.

Okay, so around this time last year, in early July, my eczema took a turn for the worse.  Not a drastic turn, mind you, but an annoying little worsening that would fluctuate and never really get totally better.  I combed my brain for thinking of what might have changed… diet?  nope.  Facial products?  nope.  Environment?  same.

As background, you should know that coffee and I have had an on-off relationship ever since about last December, when we got a magical Keurig as a gift and I started slugging the brewski every morning, more for the delicious ritual than the wake-up juice.  I would go through periods where I would try to completely give it up or really, really reduce it, then get back on the coffee wagon.

I never made a connection with eczema until a few weeks ago.  I had only been drinking coffee minimally, but I started a new work environment and I craved the comfort of coffee, drinking a cup a day for a week straight.  By the end of the work week, my eczema was bad.  My beloved husband even said to me, “WHAT is WRONG with your FACE?” not knowing such things are a dagger blow to an eczema sufferer’s feelings (I didn’t think it was THAT bad if you didn’t look at me real closely and probably had blurry vision).

I didn’t make any connection with coffee and eczema yet, but I went cold turkey on it since I didn’t want a chemical dependency.  10 days without coffee, and my eczema got a little better each day!!!!  Then as a test, I had coffee yesterday.  Oh yes, eczema got a little worse.

And here I thought I had Googled just about everything about eczema and knew what to avoid… coffee never crossed my mind.  I’m going to keep up the coffee abstinence and see what happens.  I don’t think it’s the cure-all, of course, since so many factors go into eczema, but this is a simple thing I can stay away from.

Try it if you’re suffering!  It is much harder for me to drag my sorry, tired, ass out of bed each morning without the promise of coffee, but at least I know I’m working toward healing my skin.

I need this coffee mug… too bad now I can only fill it with tea or hot water.Image

Tagged , ,

22 thoughts on “Coffee Revelation

  1. […] keep my use of it very minimal starting around July of this year.  This was also the time that I gave up coffee and have only had coffee a handful of times since […]

  2. smes9 says:

    I sometimes used to flare up when drinking coffee and sometimes not. Lately it hasnt flared up and Im drinking more coffee than tea (so British) I wonder if it was what I would eat with the coffee that made the difference? Im eliminating wheat and that has really helped me.

    • Hi! Yeah, the body is a funny thing, it’s so hard to tell what is bad for a given person and what is good. Plus I don’t know if it is the coffee itself or the caffeine. I don’t get as bothered by caffeine in other products like tea or fizzy drinks. I had coffee as a test a few weeks ago and it really made my stomach hurt, so maybe it IS just coffee. I am glad to hear that eliminating wheat has helped you! I try to eat less of it when I can, but I really should commit and try to cut out completely to see if it makes a difference.

  3. phillipa says:

    I discovered that my whole teenage years could have been significantly better if I had taken a miss at my all consuming coffee habit, I started drinking espresso coffee at 9 when my mother had a cafe. I stopped drinking for a while when I was 20 and started drinking tea and my face and neck lumps disappeared, and my skin became clear, healthy and glowy. I drank coffee a couple of times and then my face would get dry, blotchy and awful and the lumps would re-appear. I’ve started drinking coffee again but it is not as bad as it was before, but I still get the lumps just not in the amazing concentrations they were in before (they pretty much looked like chicken pox). I have started drinking decaf and it might be better than regular caffeinated coffee, but we’ll see!!

    • Hey Phillipa! Thanks for stopping by and giving your take. My goodness you started drinking coffee early in life! Your story definitely seems good evidence of “everything in moderation”. Hope the decaf leaves your skin okay because coffee is oh so good and that way you can still have it. I drink it here and there now, a few times a week, and I haven’t noticed any bad effects. I used to be dependent on it and need it every day, but I don’t want to be back with being “addicted” to it. It makes it more special if I just reserve it for having it sometimes. Cheers from one coffee lover to another 🙂

  4. Molly says:

    Are you drinking coffee again? Thanks for liking my post! 🙂

    • I do drink coffee again 🙂 Since I figured out my wacky skin rash was actually from topical steroids, and since quitting them and being nearly healed, I can drink coffee with no problem! I only drink it a few times a week cause I don’t want to get outright addicted, but I love that sparkly alert productive feeling it gives, and the ritual of it. I don’t blame you for going back to coffee… life is short and it’s a simple enjoyable pleasure!

  5. keith says:

    Hey I’m experiencing terrible chickenpox like eczema on my face, had it for quite some time. It’s terrible in extreme concentration. I personally love coffee and I drink a Starbucks venti usually with a couple shots. I think this may be the problem. Also I read somewhere about gut leakage that seems to string in directly with the factors. I’m no medical expert to say the least. But tommrow is day one of no caffeine ill repost my results. Good luck everyone this shit sucks…….. :(.

    • Hi Keith, sorry to hear about the eczema on your face! I think it’s definitely worth giving up coffee for a bit to see if it makes a difference. It will be tough to go cold turkey but it will be worth it if you find a connection between the two. Keep me posted on your results. For me I think that coffee made things worse when my skin was bad, but it wasn’t the cause of things. I was able to go back to coffee here and there without it seeming to affect my skin, after I figured things out. Good luck to you!

    • Robert says:

      I have similar chickenpox like eczema in my legs, thighs and back. Giving up coffee is making a big difference, but I am also taking Methotrexate that was prescribed to me by my Dermatologist. I will talk to my Dermatologist if I can stop the Methotrexate. I gave up wheat, soy, eggs and coffee, but coffee seems to be making the difference.

      • Hi Robert, thanks for stopping by and weighing in. I’m glad to hear that you seem to be seeing improvements with coffee. I am not familiar with Methotrexate but obviously the less medications the better! Maybe you will find that you are able to add coffee back in here and there after your skin improves. Keep us posted if you will. Cheers!

  6. corinne says:

    Hi! Interesting posts! I’m 49 and have suddenly developed eczema just over the last ten days out of nowhere apparently. However, recently I’ve started treating myself to a couple of cups of coffee every day and I wondered whether caffeine could be the culprit. So today has been my first day without it. Then I read these posts so I will continue for ten days to see if it makes a difference. I will let you know. Hope it works as the itching is driving me beserk!!!

    • Hi Corinne! Keep me posted as to what happens when you stop coffee – not saying that caffeine directly may be causing your eczema, but if you are under stress already, the coffee may be aggravating the strain on your body and adrenal system. I think that is what was happening for me. Once I got things sorted out and realized the underlying cause of my itching and eczema was due to topical steroid addiction (and now that i healed!) I can drink coffee with no problem – though I do keep it to just a few cups a week. I know how it feels to itch like mad… so I hope it goes away for you soon!

  7. Amy says:

    How do you take your coffee? Perhaps it was the milk / cream you put into it? I’ve read that dairy can be bad for skin but don’t know how true it is. Have you ever tried it black? That may be a worthy experiment.

    • Hi Amy, thanks for stopping by! Actually I always, always take my coffee black. No cream, no milk, no sugar. 🙂

      Dairy can definitely affect some people’s skin and I thought it affected mine for a while. But now that I healed from topical steroids which were the root cause of my skin problems, I can eat dairy with no apparently problem (though I don’t eat it very often).

      Thanks for the visit to my blog — Cheers!

  8. Rob Greaney says:

    So glad I found this site. Hey I live in New Zealand and I’ve had eczema since I was a baby. Now I’m 54 and I still have it. Coffee has been one of the great loves of my life and I’ve been loathed to consider the connection. Recently I left my job and started working at home. Home is where I can leave my office and grab a coffee any old time of the day and I generally do. I have a cut of point around 4. Any later than that and I can sleep.
    So today is cold turkey day. Day 1 and I’m a bit depressed, sleepy and a headache. Oddly enough it already feels less painful. I’ll keep you posted
    Rob

    • Hey Rob!! Thanks for your visit and weighing in with your experience. Generally coffee and caffeine is hard on the adrenal system which is often already stressed when we are suffering from skin conditions. So I will be curious to hear your progress with cutting it out completely! Best of luck to you and be sure to come back and update!

  9. Rob Greaney says:

    I should probably be writing this the on coffee addicts anonymous website as well. I’m embarrassed to say how much I actually drank but needless to say the last 4 days have been pretty tough. Itching has decrease but that may be due to some other factors as well like a raw food diet (not happy about that) and no dairy or wheat. Mostly I got pretty desperate to get things under control. My face did the old “Mr Blotchy” on me yesterday but today seems fine.
    Work in progress. Keep you posted. thanks for the encouragement.
    Rob

  10. Kenny says:

    Dear All,

    I am so glad I landed on this site. I have had such bad eczema three days ago. it has scared my face and its itching so bad. I am glad to discover from your inputs that coffee is one of the culprits is some people. I love my morning fix but am willing to drop it and see if all will be better. Thanks a lot

    Kay.

  11. Rob Greaney says:

    I promised to keep you all informed on my progress after quitting coffee. It’s been 3 weeks and there has been perhaps a little improvement. Not what I had hoped for. I also went on what some folk would call an illimination diet at the same time. The whole thing made me feel a bit grumpy and quite lonely. You know the kind of loneliness one experiences when everyone is enjoying ice cream and pizza and you have a bowl of raw cabbage and a glass of water.

    So on the coffee, not sure it had a huge effect but no doubt I needed to quit. You’re complete strangers but still I’d be embarrassed to tell you how much I drank.

    I have a theory that the results for eczema suffers quitting coffee may be more to do with a better night’s sleep than any allergic reaction.

    I am now less irritable ( and irritating say some family members) and I feel a bit more positive about life so I think this is going to have an effect in the long term.

    Bless you guys
    Rob

    • Hey Rob, thank you for updating us all on your progress! Yes I don’t think that quitting coffee is the single “magic bullet” for skin issues, but certainly if you were drinking so much you were embarrassed to tell us strangers, your body probably is very thankful that you gave it a rest and quit 😉 I would agree with your theory that it’s more of an overall less-stress type of thing. Cheers!

  12. gianapaine says:

    My son has eczema really bad and I know it’s food triggers, plus who knows what else. I notice that it would get worse after I drank coffee, since he is breastfed. I believe there are 2 factors at play with coffee (maybe 3). 1. It increases histamine in your body chemistry which cab trigger and inflame eczema. 2. The many chemicals used to process coffee, decaf, and instant coffees. And 3, my son is allergic to molds. The same are found in mycotoxins left by these molds in coffee. There is contradicting research on the amount of toxins that are still left in coffee. The US, doesn’t regulate it too much. It has also been found to accumulate in the body and found in breastmilk. . So I’m abstaining from coffee for the moment, and once he clears up I will buy premium grade organic, from bulletproof, coffee and have a test. I also notice that his eczema tends to be after about a week of me consuming coffee daily and from starbucks especially.

Leave a Reply

