Welcome to Itchyland

Welcome, fellow eczema sufferers.  Here you are greeted, embraced, and never judged.  Here you can read about my journey with eczema and what has worked/what has not worked for me.   Here you might learn about some different triggers, irritants, and healers.  Obligatory disclaimer that I am not a physician nor do I have any dermatological background, so what has worked for me may not work for you.

Eczema is such a fluctuating disease.  One day I might feel awesomely, almost, blemish-free and go out in summer clothing feeling vibrant and youthful, the next day I might be covered in little bumps and sores, feeling ugly and like I need to hide.  Not to mention that it often seems completely random – for example, one of my eyes has a little rashy patch under it, the other eye is perfectly smooth and clear.  One of my legs has weird little irritations, the other one is looking fine.  BUT I PUT THE SAME PRODUCTS ON BOTH?!?!  Why does this happen?  Why is eczema so nonsensical?  I hope to make a little sense of the madness on this blog and keep track of what irritates my eczema and what helps it.

In my early years of eczema, as a child, I remember getting the itchy scabs on the inside of my wrists, inside of elbows, back of knees, and crease under buttocks.  My mother would tie socks around my hands at night in hopes of getting me not to itch – and the most glorious feeling (like eating foods that are bad for you – you know they’re bad, but it feels so GOOD to be bad – ) was finagling the knotted string off my wrists and being able to ITCH!

I don’t remember having any issues with eczema in puberty.  God bless puberty – oily skin and all.  I could eat like crap, don’t remember wearing any special moisturizers or creams, and had skin that now, I would probably swoon over with envy.

Now I am in my mid-20s.  In the grand scheme of things, my eczema is not really that bad.  I’m not covered head to toe, nor do I itch myself into a bloody, scabby mess at night.  My heart goes out to all of those that do.  There are people out there with very, VERY severe dermatological problems.  I’m just trying to make sense of my own mild ones.  I have some chronic problem areas that are very stubborn and go away, then come back.  I’ve become very stringent about what I eat and put on my body.  I learned in a mind-body class that you have come full circle of acceptance and maturity with a disease when you acknowledge maybe there is a reason it was given to you and it is up to you to do something good with it.  That’s why I am here – eczema never fails to keep me humble, and in that, I can hopefully help others as well.

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “Welcome to Itchyland

  1. Thanks for bringing my awareness to your blog!! It does sound like we’re bot on the path to make our eczema manageable and have similar types! Eczema really does puzzle me at times so it’s great that you are out there trying to find a way to cope too!

    Good luck and keep me posted =]

  2. Amanda says:

    I just randomly ended up in your archives and this:
    “Eczema is such a fluctuating disease. One day I might feel awesomely, almost, blemish-free and go out in summer clothing feeling vibrant and youthful, the next day I might be covered in little bumps and sores, feeling ugly and like I need to hide. Not to mention that it often seems completely random – for example, one of my eyes has a little rashy patch under it, the other eye is perfectly smooth and clear. One of my legs has weird little irritations, the other one is looking fine. BUT I PUT THE SAME PRODUCTS ON BOTH?!?! Why does this happen? Why is eczema so nonsensical? I hope to make a little sense of the madness on this blog and keep track of what irritates my eczema and what helps it.”
    sums how I feel up PERFECTLY. And it ends up being,what feels like a wild goose chase to try to determine what’s wrong. It’s so frustrating. And the days where your skin looks good and feels good – those days are just so freeing. I’m able to laugh, feel carefree, interact with other people confidently ….

  3. Yes! On the days where I am having a “good skin” day, I always wish I had written down every single thing I ate/did/came in contact with, so I could try and replicate everything and have a lot of “good skin days” in a row. But even if I DID do that (which isn’t very feasible), the combination of so many factors, like environment, food, stress, etc. probably wouldn’t make this foolproof.

    Oh my goodness, only other eczema/allergy/chronic disease sufferers like yourself and others can understand the magnificence of a “good day”. It is the best feeling! I feel so productive and alive on those days. I remember this commercial from a few years ago, I think it was for some kind of lotion like Eucerin, saying, “The measure of healthy skin….is not thinking about skin at all.” That’s the best, when you can forget about all maladies and you look good enough where you are not thinking about it one bit. And even though it is a wild goose chase, I still have faith and optimism that one day we each will pinpoint more individual triggers and have many more “good skin days” than not!

Leave a Reply

